Room

Room Author Emma Donoghue
ISBN-10 9780316098328
Release
Publisher Back Bay Books
Download Link Click Here

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE -- nominated for four Academy Awards, including Best Picture

To five-year-old-Jack, Room is the world. . . . It's where he was born, it's where he and his Ma eat and sleep and play and learn. At night, his Ma shuts him safely in the wardrobe, where he is meant to be asleep when Old Nick visits.

Room is home to Jack, but to Ma it's the prison where she has been held for seven years. Through her fierce love for her son, she has created a life for him in this eleven-by-eleven-foot space. But with Jack's curiosity building alongside her own desperation, she knows that Room cannot contain either much longer.

Room is a tale at once shocking, riveting, exhilarating--a story of unconquerable love in harrowing circumstances, and of the diamond-hard bond between a mother and her child.



The Room: A Novel

The Room: A Novel Author Jonas Karlsson
ISBN-10 9780804139984
Release 2015-02-17
Publisher Hogarth
Download Link Click Here

Funny, clever, surreal, and thought-provoking, this Kafkaesque masterpiece introduces the unforgettable Bjorn, an exceptionally meticulous office worker striving to live life on his own terms.
 
      Bjorn is a compulsive, meticulous bureaucrat who discovers a secret room at the government office where he works--a secret room that no one else in his office will acknowledge. When Bjorn is in his room, what his co-workers see is him standing by the wall and staring off into space looking dazed, relaxed, and decidedly creepy. Bjorn's bizarre behavior eventually leads his co-workers to try and have him fired, but Bjorn will turn the tables on them with help from his secret room.
      Debut author Jonas Karlsson doesn't leave a word out of place in this brilliant, bizarre, delightful take on how far we will go--in a world ruled by conformity--to live an individual and examined life.



Rooms: A Novel

Rooms: A Novel Author James L. Rubart
ISBN-10 9780805448887
Release
Publisher B&H Books
Download Link Click Here

On a rainy spring day in Seattle, young software tycoon Micah Taylor receives a cryptic, twenty-five-year-old letter from a great uncle he never knew. It claims a home awaits him on the Oregon coast that will turn his world inside out. Suspecting a prank, Micah arrives at Cannon Beach to discover a stunning brand new nine-thousand square foot house. And after meeting Sarah Sabin at a nearby ice cream shop, he has two reasons to visit the beach every weekend.

When bizarre things start happening in the rooms of the home, Micah suspects they have some connection to his enigmatic new friend, Rick, the town mechanic. But Rick will only say the house is spiritual. This unnerves Micah because his faith slipped away like the tide years ago, and he wants to keep it that way. But as he slowly discovers, the home isn’t just spiritual, it’s a physical manifestation of his soul, which God uses to heal Micah’s darkest wounds and lead him into an astonishing new destiny.


"An extraordinary read. Part The Screwtape Letters, part The Shack."

--Robert Liparulo, best-selling author of Comes a Horseman


"A profound spiritual tale spun with imaginative flair. I'm looking forward to more from Jim Rubart."

--James Scott Bell, best-selling author of Try Fear


"Unforgettable. The kind of book that is talked about long after the last page has been turned. The universe of readers is richer because of this debut novel."

--Alton Gansky, author of Enoch and Certain Jeopardy


"Two words about Rooms: blown away. It's been a long time since I read anything this unique and truly creative, and even longer since a book held me in such rapt attention during the moments I was reading it--and long after."

--Deborah Raney, author of the Clayburn novels

"A wonderful book . . . Since I began reading it, I've been captivated. It isn't often that a book pulls me so deeply into the fictive dream that I dream about it at night."

--Terri Blackstock, author of Predator and Intervention

Winner, Best Inspirational Novel of 2010

--RT BOOK REVIEWS Reviewers' Choice Awards



The Whispering Room: A Jane Hawk Novel

The Whispering Room: A Jane Hawk Novel Author Dean Koontz
ISBN-10 9780345546807
Release 2017-11-21
Publisher Bantam
Download Link Click Here

Jane Hawk—fiction’s most relentless, resourceful, stunning new heroine—continues her battle against a murderous conspiracy in the riveting sequel to The Silent Corner.

“No time to delay. Do what you were born to do. Fame will be yours when you do this.”

These are the words that ring in the mind of mild-mannered, beloved schoolteacher Cora Gundersun—just before she takes her own life, and many others’, in a shocking act of carnage. When the disturbing contents of her secret journal are discovered, it seems certain that she must have been insane. But Jane Hawk knows better.

In the wake of her husband’s inexplicable suicide—and the equally mysterious deaths of scores of other exemplary individuals—Jane picks up the trail of a secret cabal of powerful players who think themselves above the law and beyond punishment. But the ruthless people bent on hijacking America’s future for their own monstrous ends never banked on a highly trained FBI agent willing to go rogue—and become the nation’s most wanted fugitive—in order to derail their insidious plans to gain absolute power with a terrifying technological breakthrough.

Driven by love for her lost husband and by fear for the five-year-old son she has sent into hiding, Jane Hawk has become an unstoppable predator. Those she is hunting will have nowhere to run when her shadow falls across them.

Acclaim for Dean Koontz’s previous Jane Hawk novel, The Silent Corner

“Gripping . . . The paranoia and mystery increase as the story unfolds. . . . Koontz has created [a] wonderful character in Jane Hawk. . . . Koontz rocks it again.”—Associated Press
 
“In this era of stingy text-message prose, Mr. Koontz is practically Shakespeare. . . . The Silent Corner brims with both action and emotion.”Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
 
The Silent Corner is vintage Dean Koontz: paranoia-fueled suspense . . . sleek and highly realized action, developed characters, and more twists and turns than any two ordinary novels combined. . . . As relevant to current events as it is audacious . . . amongst Dean Koontz’s finest contemporary work.”Mystery Scene
 
“A proven specialist in action scenes, Koontz pulls off some doozies here. . . . The book is full of neat touches. . . . And the prose, as always in a Koontz novel, is first-rate. Perhaps Koontz’s leanest, meanest thriller, this initial entry in a new series introduces a smart, appealing heroine who can outthink as well as outshoot the baddest of bad dudes.”Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
 
“The latest page-turner by Dean Koontz introduces readers to Jane Hawk. . . . An inspired choice for a protagonist . . . action, zippy dialogue and a winning character at the center of the book, part of a new series by Koontz.”—Minneapolis Star-Tribune
 
“Long an A-list bestseller, Koontz has always delivered the goods. . . . [His] varied bibliography now adds a new series and an exciting new heroine.”Booklist
 
“Fantastically written (as always by Mr. Koontz) . . . You are riveted on page one. . . . 5 stars!”Suspense Magazine



Rooms: A Novel

Rooms: A Novel Author Lauren Oliver
ISBN-10 9780062223203
Release 2015-09-15
Publisher Ecco
Download Link Click Here

The New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall and the Delirium trilogy makes her brilliant adult debut with this mesmerizing story in the tradition of The Lovely Bones, Her Fearful Symmetry, and The Ocean at the End of the Lane—a tale of family, ghosts, secrets, and mystery, in which the lives of the living and the dead intersect in shocking, surprising, and moving ways.

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family—bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna—have arrived for their inheritance.

But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself—in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb.

The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide—with cataclysmic results.

Elegantly constructed and brilliantly paced, Rooms is an enticing and imaginative ghost story and a searing family drama that is as haunting as it is resonant.



The Women's Room: A Novel

The Women's Room: A Novel Author Marilyn French
ISBN-10 9780143114505
Release 2009-05-27
Publisher Penguin Books
Download Link Click Here

The twenty-one-million copy bestseller-available again for a new generation of readers

Originally published in 1977, The Women's Room was a novel that-for the first time-expressed the inner lives of women who left education and professional advancement behind to marry in the 1950s, only to find themselves adrift and unable to support themselves after divorce in the 1970s. Some became destitute, a few went insane. But many went back to school in the heyday of the Women's Liberation movement, and were swept up in the promise of equality for both sexes. Marilyn French's characters represent this wide cross section of American women, and her wry and pointed voice gives depth and emotional intensity to this timeless book that remains controversial and completely relevant.



A Room of My Own (Legacy Editions) (Volume 2)

A Room of My Own (Legacy Editions) (Volume 2) Author Ann Tatlock
ISBN-10 9780982206584
Release
Publisher Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas
Download Link Click Here

Excellence in Media Silver Angel Award

Virginia, the young daughter of a wealthy doctor s family, sees her life forever altered by the Great Depression. Forced to give up her own room so that relatives can move in, her resentment at those circumstances is altered as she helps her father, who spends his spare time giving medical attention to the people of Soo City. Soo City is a makeshift camp near the Soo Line tracks. But her father s goodwill clashes with powerful people who wish the camp destroyed. The violent strike of workers in the grain mill district brings tragedy to the strikers, and the father is severely wounded while helping the people of Soo City as the police are clearing out the camp. What happens next will astound you!

In this seamless and well-researched narrative, Tatlock provides a compelling look at the Depression through a child s eyes. At the same time, she accurately conveys the exuberance, naïveté, humor and optimism typical of young teens. --CBA Marketplace



Dark Rooms: A Novel

Dark Rooms: A Novel Author Lili Anolik
ISBN-10 9780062345868
Release 2015-03-03
Publisher William Morrow
Download Link Click Here

The Secret History meets Sharp Objects in this stunning debut about murder and glamour set in the ambiguous and claustrophobic world of an exclusive New England prep school.

Death sets the plot in motion: the murder of Nica Baker, beautiful, wild, enigmatic, and only sixteen. The crime is solved, and quickly—a lonely classmate, unrequited love, a suicide note confession—but memory and instinct won’t allow Nica’s older sister, Grace, to accept the case as closed.

Dropping out of college and living at home, working at the moneyed and progressive private high school in Hartford, Connecticut, from which she recently graduated, Grace becomes increasingly obsessed with identifying and punishing the real killer.

Compulsively readable, Lili Anolik’s debut novel combines the verbal dexterity of Marisha Pessl’s Special Topic in Calamity Physics and the haunting atmospherics and hairpin plot twists of Megan Abbott’s Dare Me.



War Room: Prayer Is a Powerful Weapon

War Room: Prayer Is a Powerful Weapon Author Chris Fabry
ISBN-10 9781496407283
Release 2015-08-04
Publisher Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
Download Link Click Here

Juggling motherhood and her job as a real-estate agent, Elizabeth Jordan wishes her husband could help more around the house. But Tony’s rising career as a pharmaceutical salesman demands more and more of his time. With a nice home in the suburbs and a lovely young daughter, they appear to have it all―yet they can’t seem to spend time together without fighting.

Hoping for a new listing, Elizabeth visits the home of Clara Williams, an elderly widow, and is both amused and uncomfortable when Clara starts asking pointed questions about her marriage and faith. But it’s Clara’s secret prayer room, with its walls covered in requests and answers, that has Elizabeth most intrigued . . . even if she’s not ready to take Clara’s suggestion that she create a prayer room of her own. As tensions at home escalate, though, Elizabeth begins to realize that her family is worth fighting for, and she can’t win this battle on her own. Stepping out in blind faith, putting her prayers for her family and their future in God’s hands, might be her only chance at regaining the life she was meant for.



The Humming Room: A Novel Inspired by the Secret Garden

The Humming Room: A Novel Inspired by the Secret Garden Author Ellen Potter
ISBN-10 9781250016669
Release 2013-04-16
Publisher Square Fish
Download Link Click Here

Hiding is Roo Fanshaw's special skill. Living in a frighteningly unstable family, she often needs to disappear at a moment's notice. When her parents are murdered, it's her special hiding place under the trailer that saves her life.

As it turns out, Roo, much to her surprise, has a wealthy if eccentric uncle, who has agreed to take her into his home on Cough Rock Island. Once a tuberculosis sanitarium for children of the rich, the strange house is teeming with ghost stories and secrets. Roo doesn't believe in ghosts or fairy stories, but what are those eerie noises she keeps hearing? And who is that strange wild boy who lives on the river? People are lying to her, and Roo becomes determined to find the truth.

Despite the best efforts of her uncle's assistants, Roo discovers the house's hidden room-a garden with a tragic secret.

Inspired by The Secret Garden, this tale full of unusual characters and mysterious secrets is a story that only Ellen Potter could write.

Read the Q&A with Ellen Potter from Publisher's Weekly on writing a novel inspired by The Secret Garden

By Sally Lodge
Jan 12, 2011

In 2003, Ellen Potter made a lively splash onto the scene with her middle-grade novel Olivia Kidney. She went on to write three sequels about that enchantingly quirky heroine, as well as two other novels, Slob and The Kneebone Boy. Most recently, the author tapped into memories of her own childhood reading to pen The Humming Room, a novel inspired by Frances Hodgson Burnett's The Secret Garden. Set in a mansion-a former children's tuberculosis sanitarium-on an island in the St. Lawrence River, the story centers on Roo, a prickly orphan who goes to live with her aloof uncle, and befriends Phillip, his troubled son, and Jack, a local boy. Potter talks about how this novel took shape.

Is it safe to assume that The Secret Garden was an important book to you as a child?

Obviously, I loved the novel as a kid. What really struck me was that when I went back to read it as an adult, the story not only held up, but I discovered elements in it I had never noticed before. It felt very fresh, and surprisingly layered in a way I hadn't realized as a child.

Was that an unusual reaction for you to have to a book you revisit from your childhood?

Yes, very unusual for me. A lot of times when I go back to books I loved when I was young I don't quite understand what it was that I loved about them. Rereading The Secret Garden, I felt a lot like Mary feels when she visits her garden. She's always finding something new popping up-something delightful or surprising. I've reread The Secret Garden every year as an adult. I have a battered copy on my bookshelf-it's really quite a mess! The experience of reading the novel keeps deepening for me.

How did you tackle the actual writing of The Humming Room?

The idea of writing a contemporary version of The Secret Garden was very exciting to me, yet at the same time it was very, very intimidating. I knew I needed to follow the original story line-or that I wanted to-but I knew I had to make it different enough that it would be worthwhile for people to read my novel. My editor, Jean Feiwel, was great and kept encouraging me to have at it, to go anywhere that I felt I had to go with it.

Did you set parameters for yourself, in terms of working within Burnett's original storyline?

I actually kept trying to swerve away from the original story, but it wasn't easy. There's something about The Secret Garden that kept me rooted in the original storyline, which was difficult for me. I don't plot my novels-I move along with my characters. For the first time I had a story already set out for me, which was very challenging.

Would you say that you heard Burnett's voice in your head as you wrote?

Yes. I feel I know The Secret Garden so well that I could kind of riff on it like a jazz musician. I know it in my core, and could take the essence and work with that. Still, I love the original novel so much that it was psychologically a very tough book to write. Though I think whenever I finish a book I always say it's the hardest thing I've ever written!

You obviously did branch out from the original, with the setting to begin with. Why choose an island on the St. Lawrence?

I went back and forth on the setting, actually. At first I thought of perhaps setting it in New York City, but that didn't work. At the time I began writing the novel I was living in the Thousand Islands, and was spending a lot of time on the St. Lawrence. The river is so very beautiful, and it struck me as similar in some ways to the moor in The Secret Garden.

Similar in what ways?

The St. Lawrence seems a vast expanse of gray, the way the moor is a vast expanse of purple. But if you stop and look closely at the river, it's incredibly changeable and moody-and sometimes violent. But it's always surprising. And it occurred to me that this would be a perfect setting for The Humming Room. On top of that, there are quite a few mansions in the Thousand Islands with ghost stories attached to them. It's quite incredible.

So that inspired your mansion setting, with mysterious humming noises and an abandoned garden hidden within it?

Yes, and I decided to make the mansion a defunct sanitarium, because I wanted there to be a ghostly presence, an eerie echo, in the house. One of the things I loved in The Secret Garden, and tried to put in my novel, was that there was a consciousness to everything-the house, the moor, and the garden. They are really characters themselves. In my novel, I wanted to give this same consciousness and self-awareness to the mansion, the river, and the garden, to give them personalities.

How did you set out to make Roo, Jack, and Phillip distinct from-and have a more modern sensibility than-Burnett's characters?

One thing I remember about Mary and Dickon is that there was a little squeak of romance in their relationship, but it was so understated. As a child, I remember wanting more romance in the book. So I brought out a bit more romance between Roo and Jack. It's a young romance and entirely innocent, but it's there. With Phillip, my Colin character, I tried at first to make his ailment physical, like Colin's, but that didn't work, so I decided to give Phillip a more mental affliction, which worked better for the story. And like Mary, Roo starts off as a not very likable character-she's a pretty tough customer. That's unusual for a heroine, and I loved that about The Secret Garden. But before long Mary begins to blossom, and that happens to Roo as well.

Have you tackled another writing project since finishing The Humming Room?

Yes. I'm working on a series for younger readers, for Feiwel and Friends. It's directed at boys-though I think girls will like it, too. I have a son who is seven, and I've been noticing for a while how few very engaging books there are for boys around that age. They somehow get the short shrift. Boys at that age who are big readers are reading books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid, which deal with middle-school issues that seven-year-olds are not yet concerned about. So I'm trying to write something along those lines, but more appropriate for younger kids. As I write, I've been trying out scenes on my son. I wait for his giggle, and if it comes, I keep that part in the book. Luckily, it's a method that seems to be working quite well!

-Publisher's Weekly, January 2012



Room

Room Author Emma Donoghue
ISBN-10 0316391344
Release 2015-09-08
Pages 352
Download Link Click Here

NOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE To five-year-old-Jack, Room is the world. . . . It's where he was born, it's where he and his Ma eat and sleep and play and learn. At night, his Ma shuts him safely in the wardrobe, where he is meant to be asleep when Old Nick visits. Room is home to Jack, but to Ma it's the prison where she has been held for seven years. Through her fierce love for her son, she has created a life for him in this eleven-by-eleven-foot space. But with Jack's curiosity building alongside her own desperation, she knows that Room cannot contain either much longer. Room is a tale at once shocking, riveting, exhilarating--a story of unconquerable love in harrowing circumstances, and of the diamond-hard bond between a mother and her child.



Room

Room Author Emma Donoghue
ISBN-10 1509803157
Release 2015-09-24
Pages 400
Download Link Click Here

Shortlisted for the Man Booker and Orange prizesNOW A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE"This is a truly remarkable novel." New York Times Book ReviewIt's Jack's birthday, and he's excited about turning five. Jack lives with his Ma in Room, which has a locked door and a skylight, and measures 11 feet by 11 feet. He loves watching TV, and the cartoon characters he calls friends, but he knows that nothing he sees on screen is truly real - only him, Ma and the things in Room. Until the day Ma admits that there's a world outside . . . Told in Jack's voice, Room is the story of a mother and son whose love lets them survive the impossible. Unsentimental and sometimes funny, devastating yet uplifting, Room is a novel like no other. PRAISE FOR ROOM"I've never read a more heart-burstingly, gut wrenchingly compassionate novel . . . As for sweet, bright, funny Jack, I wanted to scoop him up out of the novel and never let him go" Daily Mail"Room is a book to read in one sitting. When it's over you look up: the world looks the same but you are somehow different and that feeling lingers for days" Audrey Niffenegger, author of The Time Traveller's Wife"Room is one of the most profoundly affecting books I've read in a long time . . ." John Boyne



Room

Room Author Emma Donoghue
ISBN-10 1443413690
Release 2012-06-11
Pages 415
Download Link Click Here

To five-year-old Jack, Room is the world. It's where he was born. It's where he and Ma eat and sleep and play and learn. There are endless wonders that let loose Jack's imagination: the snake under Bed that he constructs out of eggshells; the imaginary world projected through the TV; the coziness of Wardrobe, where Ma tucks him in safely at night, in case Old Nick comes. Room is home to Jack, but to Ma, it's the prison where she's been held since she was nineteen--for seven long years. Through her fierce love for her son, she has created a life for him in that eleven-by-eleven-foot space. But Jack's curiosity is building alongside Ma's own desperation, and she knows that Room cannot contain either indefinitely. Told in the inventive, funny and poignant voice of Jack, Room is a celebration of resilience--and a powerful story of a mother and son whose love lets them survive the impossible.



The Room

The Room Author Jonas Karlsson
ISBN-10 9781448191253
Release 2015-01-15
Pages 176
Download Link Click Here

The Authority looks favourably upon meticulousness, efficiency and ambition. Bjorn has all of this in spades, but it's only in the Room that he can really shine. Unfortunately, his colleagues see things differently. In fact, they don't even see the Room at all. The Room is a short, sharp and fiendish fable in the tradition of Franz Kafka, Samuel Beckett and Charlie Kauffman. If you have ever toiled in an office, felt like the world was against you or questioned the nature of reality then this is the novel for you.



Room

Room Author Emma Donoghue
ISBN-10 9783125798809
Release 2012
Pages 336
Download Link Click Here

Room has been writing in one form or another for most of life. You can find so many inspiration from Room also informative, and entertaining. Click DOWNLOAD or Read Online button to get full Room book for free.



Rooms

Rooms Author James L. Rubart
ISBN-10 9780805448887
Release 2010
Pages 385
Download Link Click Here

Micah Taylor, a young software tycoon inherits a coastal Oregon home that is really a physical manifestation of his soul being used by God to heal the man's greatest wounds. Original.



Stranger in the Room

Stranger in the Room Author Amanda Kyle Williams
ISBN-10 9780345534576
Release 2012-08-21
Pages 320
Download Link Click Here

“One of the most addictive new series heroines since Stephanie Plum.”—The Atlanta Journal-Constitution Atlanta private investigator and ex–FBI profiler Keye Street wants nothing more than time alone with her boyfriend, Aaron—but, as usual, murder gets in the way. A.P.D. Lieutenant Aaron Rauser is called to the disturbing scene of the strangling death of a thirteen-year-old boy. Meanwhile, Keye, a recovering alcoholic, must deal with her emotionally fragile cousin, who has her own history of drug abuse and is now convinced that she is being stalked. But all hell breaks loose when another murder—the apparent hanging of an elderly man—hits disturbingly close to home for Keye. Though the two victims have almost nothing in common, there are bizarre similarities between this case and that of Aaron’s strangled teen. With the threat of more deaths to come, Keye works on pure instinct alone—and soon realizes that a killer is circling ever closer to the people she loves the most. BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Amanda Kyle Williams's Don't Talk to Strangers. Praise for Amanda Kyle Williams and Stranger in the Room “Keye Street remains the most interesting, cynically funny and smart series detective today. . . . The tension buzzes like cicadas on a hot Georgia night and the pace is relentless.”—Seattle Post-Intelligencer “The best fictional female P.I. since Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone.”—The Plain Dealer “Keye Street immediately puts herself in the top echelon of suspense heroes. She’s a mess of fascinating contradictions—effortlessly brilliant on a case, totally inept in managing her own life. She is brutally funny and powerfully human—one of the most realistic protagonists in crime fiction that I’ve had the thrill to read.”—Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of Last to Die “There’s a new voice in Atlanta, and her name is Amanda Kyle Williams—captivating, powerful and compelling.”—Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times bestselling author of One Was a Soldier “Readers of this fast-paced thriller will be eager for the next Street tale.”—Publishers Weekly



The Guest Room

The Guest Room Author Chris Bohjalian
ISBN-10 9780385538909
Release 2016-01-05
Pages 336
Download Link Click Here

From the New York Times bestselling author of Midwives and The Sandcastle Girls comes the spellbinding tale of a party gone horribly wrong: two men lie dead in a suburban living room, two women are on the run from police, and a marriage is ripping apart at the seams. When Kristin Chapman agrees to let her husband, Richard, host his brother’s bachelor party, she expects a certain amount of debauchery. She brings their young daughter to Manhattan for the evening, leaving her Westchester home to the men and their hired entertainment. What she does not expect is this: bacchanalian drunkenness, her husband sharing a dangerously intimate moment in the guest room, and two women stabbing and killing their Russian bodyguards before driving off into the night. In the aftermath, Kristin and Richard’s life rapidly spirals into nightmare. The police throw them out of their home, now a crime scene, Richard’s investment banking firm puts him on indefinite leave, and Kristin is unsure if she can forgive her husband for the moment he shared with a dark-haired girl in the guest room. But the dark-haired girl, Alexandra, faces a much graver danger. In one breathless, violent night, she is free, running to escape the police who will arrest her and the gangsters who will kill her in a heartbeat. A captivating, chilling story about shame and scandal, The Guest Room is a riveting novel from one of our greatest storytellers.



Rooms

Rooms Author Lauren Oliver
ISBN-10 9781444760798
Release 2014-09-25
Pages 352
Download Link Click Here

Wealthy Richard Walker has just died, leaving behind his country house full of rooms packed with the detritus of a lifetime. His estranged family - bitter ex-wife Caroline, troubled teenage son Trenton, and unforgiving daughter Minna - have arrived for their inheritance. But the Walkers are not alone. Prim Alice and the cynical Sandra, long dead former residents bound to the house, linger within its claustrophobic walls. Jostling for space, memory, and supremacy, they observe the family, trading barbs and reminiscences about their past lives. Though their voices cannot be heard, Alice and Sandra speak through the house itself - in the hiss of the radiator, a creak in the stairs, the dimming of a light bulb. The living and dead are each haunted by painful truths that will soon surface with explosive force. When a new ghost appears, and Trenton begins to communicate with her, the spirit and human worlds collide - with cataclysmic results.



The Wonder

The Wonder Author Emma Donoghue
ISBN-10 9781509818419
Release 2016-09-22
Pages
Download Link Click Here

An eleven-year-old girl stops eating, but remains miraculously alive and well. A nurse, sent to investigate whether she is a fraud, meets a journalist hungry for a story. Set in the Irish Midlands in the 1850s, Emma Donoghue's The Wonder - inspired by numerous European and North American cases of 'fasting girls' between the sixteenth century and the twentieth - is a psychological thriller about a child's murder threatening to happen in slow motion before our eyes. Pitting all the seductions of fundamentalism against sense and love, it is a searing examination of what nourishes us, body and soul.



The Glass Room

The Glass Room Author Simon Mawer
ISBN-10 9780748115686
Release 2009-08-20
Pages 416
Download Link Click Here

Cool. Balanced. Modern. The precisions of science, the wild variance of lust, the catharsis of confession and the fear of failure - these are things that happen in the Glass Room. High on a Czechoslovak hill, the Landauer House shines as a wonder of steel and glass and onyx built specially for newlyweds Viktor and Liesel Landauer, a Jew married to a gentile. But the radiant honesty of 1930 that the house, with its unique Glass Room, seems to engender quickly tarnishes as the storm clouds of WW2 gather, and eventually the family must flee, accompanied by Viktor's lover and her child. But the house's story is far from over, and as it passes from hand to hand, from Czech to Russian, both the best and the worst of the history of Eastern Europe becomes somehow embodied and perhaps emboldened within the beautiful and austere surfaces and planes so carefully designed, until events become full-circle.



The Room

The Room Author Hubert Selby
ISBN-10 9781453235409
Release 2011-12-13
Pages 288
Download Link Click Here

“A terrifying journey into the darkest corners of the psyche” by the author of Requiem for a Dream and Last Exit to Brooklyn (The Guardian). A small-time criminal sits alone in his cell, his mind reeling with sadistic thoughts of retribution against the police and, eventually, all those he believes have failed him throughout his life. A deeply disturbing exploration of a character the Guardian described as “a genuinely frightening American Psycho,” Hubert Selby Jr.’s second novel is made all the more chilling by the narrator’s brief flashes of humanity. The Room is a tale so terrifying the author himself couldn’t read it for decades after writing it. Called “brutal” by the New York Times when it was first published, it is a dark masterpiece about a man who may be temporarily trapped in jail, but whose true prison is his own anger, as he is enslaved by out-of-control passions and sickening fantasies of revenge. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Hubert Selby Jr. including rare photos from the author’s estate.



The Room on the Roof

The Room on the Roof Author Ruskin Bond
ISBN-10 9780141386775
Release 2017-08-03
Pages 192
Download Link Click Here

The Room on the Roof is a timeless coming-of-age novel that will resonate with a whole new generation of readers. Written by renowned author Ruskin Bond when he was just seventeen, it is the story of Rusty, a teenage Anglo-Indian boy who is orphaned and has to live with his English guardian in the stifling European quarter of Dehra Dun. Unhappy with the strict ways of his guardian, Rusty runs away from home to live with his Indian friends into the dream-bright world of the bazaar, Hindu festivals and all manner of Indian life. Rusty is enthralled, and is lost forever to the prim proprieties of the claustrophic European community.



Dark Rooms

Dark Rooms Author Lili Anolik
ISBN-10 9780062345882
Release 2015-03-03
Pages 352
Download Link Click Here

The Secret History meets Sharp Objects in this stunning debut about murder and glamour set in the ambiguous and claustrophobic world of an exclusive New England prep school. Death sets the plot in motion: the murder of Nica Baker, beautiful, wild, enigmatic, and only sixteen. The crime is solved, and quickly—a lonely classmate, unrequited love, a suicide note confession—but memory and instinct won’t allow Nica’s older sister, Grace, to accept the case as closed. Dropping out of college and living at home, working at the moneyed and progressive private high school in Hartford, Connecticut, from which she recently graduated, Grace becomes increasingly obsessed with identifying and punishing the real killer. Compulsively readable, Lili Anolik’s debut novel combines the verbal dexterity of Marisha Pessl’s Special Topic in Calamity Physics and the haunting atmospherics and hairpin plot twists of Megan Abbott’s Dare Me.



Make Room Make Room

Make Room  Make Room Author Harry Harrison
ISBN-10 9780141968407
Release 2013-12-05
Pages 240
Download Link Click Here

A gangster is murdered during a blistering Manhattan heat wave. City cop Andy Rusch is under pressure solve the crime and captivated by the victim's beautiful girlfriend. But it is difficult to catch a killer, let alone get the girl, in crazy streets crammed full of people. The planet's population has exploded. The 35 million inhabitants of New York City run their TVs off pedal power, riot for water, loot and trample for lentil 'steaks' and are controlled by sinister barbed wire dropped from the sky. Written in 1966 and set in 1999, Make Room! Make Room! is a witty and unnerving story about stretching the earth's resources, and the human spirit, to breaking point.



The Sleep Room

The Sleep Room Author F. R. Tallis
ISBN-10 9780230771901
Release 2013-07-04
Pages 400
Download Link Click Here

As haunting as Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black and as dark as James Herbert's The Secret of Crickley Hall, F. R. Tallis’s The Sleep Room is where your nightmares begin . . . When promising psychiatrist, James Richardson, is offered the job opportunity of a lifetime, he is thrilled. Setting off to take up his post at Wyldehope Hall in deepest Suffolk, Richardson doesn’t look back. One of his tasks is to manage a controversial project – a pioneering therapy in which extremely disturbed patients are kept asleep for months. As Richardson settles into his new life, he begins to sense something uncanny about the sleeping patients – six women, forsaken by society. Why is the trainee nurse so on edge when she spends nights alone with them? And what can it mean when all the sleepers start dreaming at the same time? It's not long before Richardson finds himself questioning everything he knows about the human mind as he attempts to uncover the shocking secrets of The Sleep Room . .



The Forgotten Room

The Forgotten Room Author Lincoln Child
ISBN-10 9780385531412
Release 2015-05-12
Pages 304
Download Link Click Here

A LONG-LOST EXPERIMENT OF UNGUESSABLE INTENT A SECRET ROOM, INGENIOUSLY HIDDEN INSIDE A VAST SEACOAST MANSION NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR LINCOLN CHILD AT HIS RIVETING BEST Professor Jeremy Logan (the quirky and charismatic “enigmalogist” who specializes in solving problems of the strange or seemingly supernatural variety) receives an urgent summons from the director of Lux, one of the oldest and most respected think tanks in America. An unexplainable tragedy has taken place in the sprawling compound located on the coastline of Newport, Rhode Island. One of Lux’s most distinguished doctors, overcome by erratic behavior, violently attacked his assistant before meeting with a gruesome self-inflflflffllflicted end. Deeply shaken by the incident and the bizarre evidence left behind from the doctor’s final project—as well as recent troubling behavior among several of the think tank’s other scientists—Lux fears there is something more sinister occurring within its walls and looks to Jeremy Logan to investigate. Logan quickly makes a surprising discovery. In a long-dormant wing of the estate, he uncovers an ingeniously hidden secret room, unknown and untouched for decades. The room is essentially a time capsule, fiffiilled with eerie machinery and obscure references to a top-secret experiment known as “Project S.” As Logan attempts to unravel its meaning, he begins to discern what transpired in that room—and why the frightening project was suddenly abandoned and sealed off many years before. As his work draws him ever deeper into harm’s way, Logan soon unleashes a series of catastrophic events upon the rest of Lux . . . and himself. One of Lincoln Child’s most thrilling novels to date, The Forgotten Room is replete with exhilarating action, veiled history, and mesmerizing science—making for a truly intelligent page-turner. From the Hardcover edition.